Regardless of political party, HFFA and the IAFF work with decision-makers to improve the welfare and livelihood of our members.  Making candidate endorsement recommendations to our members and the community is important in the electoral process.

Check your mail for your General Election Ballot which are scheduled to be mailed this week.   You can drop off your ballot at any ballot drop box in your county and if you are returning you ballot by mail, please be sure to allow time for the postal service to deliver your ballot to your county’s elections division offices by the November 8, 2022, 7:00 pm deadline.

Thank you for your consideration of the HFFA endorsed candidates and hope you will join HFFA in electing these candidates.

Download the list here

State of Hawaii

Brian Schatz

1st Congressional District:  Ed Case
2nd Congressional District:  Jill Tokuda

Josh Green

Sylvia Luke

Kauai Candidate Endorsements

Mayor:   Derek Kawakami

Senate District 8:   Ron Kouchi

House District 15:   Nadine Nakamura
House District 16:   James Tokioka
House District 17:   Dee Morikawa

Kauai County Council:
• Bernard Carvalho
• Billy DeCosta
• Luke Evslin
• KipuKai Kualii
• Mel Rapozo

Hawaii Candidate Endorsements

Senate District 1:   Lorraine Inouye
Senate District 2:   Joy San Buenaventura
Senate District 3:   Dru Kanuha
Senate District 4:   Tim Richards

House District 1:   Mark Nakashima
House District 2:   Richard Onishi
House District 3:   Christopher Todd
House District 4:   Greggor Ilagan
House District 5:   Jeanne Kapela
House District 7:   Nicole Lowen

County Council
• District 2:   Matthias Kusch
• District 3:   Susan Lee Loy
• District 4:   Ashley Kierkiewicz
• District 7:   Rebecca Villegas
• District 8:   Holeka Inaba

Maui Candidate Endorsements

Mayor:   Michael Victorino

Senate District 5:   Gilbert Keith-Agaran
Senate District 6:   Angus McKelvey
Senate District 7:   Lynn DeCoite

House District 9:   Justin Woodson
House District 10:   Troy Hashimoto
House District 12:   Kyle Yamashita

County Council
• West Maui:   Tamara Paltin
• Wailuku-Waihee-Waikapu:   Alice Lee
• Kahului:   Tasha Kama
• South Maui:   Tom Cook
• Makawao-Haiku-Paia:   Nohe Uu-Hodgins
• Upcountry District:   Yuki Lei Sugimura

Oahu Candidate Endorsements

Senate District 9:    Stanley Chang
Senate District 11:   Carol Fukunaga
Senate District 13:   Karl Rhoads
Senate District 14:   Donna Kim
Senate District 15:   Glenn Wakai
Senate District 16:   Brandon Elefante
Senate District 17:   Donovan Dela Cruz
Senate District 18:   Michelle Kidani
Senate District 19:   Henry Aquino
Senate District 20:   Kurt Fevella
Senate District 21:   Mike Gabbard
Senate District 22:   Maile Shimabukuro
Senate District 24:   Jarrett Keohokalole
Senate District 25:   Chris Lee

House District 19:   Mark Hashem
House District 20:   Bert Kobayashi
House District 21:   Jackson Sayama
House District 23:   Scott Nishimoto
House District 24:   Adrian Tam
House District 25:   Scott Saiki
House District 26:   Della Au Belatti
House District 28:   Daniel Holt
House District 29:   John Mizuno
House District 31:   Linda Ichiyama
House District 33:   Sam Kong
House District 35:   Jolyn Garidan Prieto
House District 36:   Rachele Lamosao
House District 37:   Ryan Yamane
House District 38:   Lauren Cheape Matsumoto
House District 39:   Corey Rosenlee
House District 40:   Wayne Kaululaau
House District 42:    Anthony Makana Paris
House District 43:   Stacelynn K. Eli
House District 45:   Cedric Asuega Gates
House District 46:   Amy Perruso
House District 47:   Sean Quinlan
House District 48:   Lisa Kitagawa
House District 49:   Scot Matayoshi

Honolulu Council District 4:  Tommy Waters

Districts which are not listed, HFFA may be revisiting at a later date.